Alina Kudasheva wins the Falling Walls Lab Tokyo 2016

The German Research and Innovation Forum Tokyo hosted its first Falling Walls Lab on 29 August 2016 in collaboration with EURAXESS Links Japan. The event was supported by the Federal Foreign Office of Germany, the Falling Walls Foundation, A.T. Kearney (Founding Partner) and Festo (Global Partner).

15 outstanding talents and innovative thinkers presented their research projects, business models and social initiatives - in 3 minutes each. A high-calibre jury made up of representatives from academia and business evaluated the presentations and selected the most innovative project. 

The winner of the Falling Walls Lab Tokyo 2016 will travel to Berlin and participate in the global Lab Finale which brings together all winners of international Labs from more than 40 countries on 8 November 2016. The winner will also receive a ticket for the Falling Walls Conference where some of the world's most prominent thinkers present their current breakthroughs - in 15 minutes each on 9 November 2016.

Meet the winner:

Alina Kudasheva     Russia     Tokyo Institute of Technology     Breaking the Wall of Global Water Shortage

More than a billion of people in developing countries have no access to clean water, moreover people globally start to face a fresh water crisis. Alina believes that we need to develop alternative technologies to produce fresh water. Fresh water can be produced by recovering it from the atmosphere through an air dehumidification process. Alina's project deals with developing an air dehumidifier based on a semipermeable liquid membrane which delivers high water recovery rates.


Meet the jury:

Prof. Dr. Heinrich Menkhaus (Jury chair), Chairman, German JSPS Alumni Association

Dr. Yuko Harayama, Executive Member of the Council for Science, Technology and Innovation, Cabinet Office of the Government of Japan

Dr. Saiki Hase, Deputy Director, DFG Office Japan

Dr. Anders Karlsson, Vice-President Strategic Alliances and Global Academic Relations, Elsevier

Dr. Ayano Takeuchi, Junior Associate Professor of Environmental Science, Toho University

Dr. Helmut Wenisch, Head of Corporate Technology, Siemens K.K.


 Prof. Dr. Heinrich Menkhaus, Jury chair and Alina Kudasheva, winner of the Tokyo Lab 2016.

back to news