board of trustees

Jürgen Mlynek studied physics in Germany and France before he moved into research management. Main fields at research are experimental quantum optics, atomic physics, surface physics. He served as Vice-President of the German Research Foundation and later as President of the Humboldt-Universität in Berlin. From 2005 until 2015, he has been President of the Helmholtz Association of German Research Centres, the largest association of research centres in Germany. For his own research, Mlynek was awarded the prestigious Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize.

Jürgen Mlynek (Chairman)

Former President, Professor, Helmholtz Association of German Research Centres

Professor Barner studied medicine at the University of Freiburg and math at ETH Zurich. In 1992 Prof. Barner joined Boehringer Ingelheim GmbH and is presently chairman of the Board of Managing Directors. He is a committee member of several top science institutions such as the Max Planck Society and the Helmholtz Association. In June 2013 Andreas Barner became the President of the Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft (Donor’s Association for the Promotion of Humanities and Sciences in Germany).

Andreas Barner

President, Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft

Carl-Henrik Heldin is the Chairman of the Board of the Nobel Foundation, a Vice President of the European Research Council and member of several societies, including the European Molecular Biology Organization and Academia Europea. Since 1986 he has been the Branch Director of the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research in Uppsala, Sweden and since 1992 he is Professor for Molecular Cell Biology at Uppsala University. His research on exploring signal transduction mechanisms for growth factors and the usefulness of signal transduction inhibitors for tumour treatment has earned him numerous awards including the EMBO Medal, the Meyenburg Prize and the Berzelius Medal.

Carl-Henrik Heldin

Chairman of the Board, Nobel Foundation

Helga Nowotny is former President and founding member of the European Research Council. Her work as a researcher includes more than 300 articles published in scientific journals on topics such as social studies of science and technology, macrosociology and the impact of the life sciences on society, and several prizes like the J.D. Bernal Prize. Her teaching career has included, among other, positions at the Institute of Advanced Study in Vienna, King’s College, Cambridge, École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales in Paris and the University of Vienna.

Helga Nowotny

Professor emerita, Social Studies of Science; former President, European Research Council (ERC)

Koji Omi is the founder and chairman of the Science and Technology in Society (STS) forum. Having held several prestigious assignments at universities, international organizations and the Japanese government, this former Minister of Science and Technology, Minister of Finance and founder of the Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology, is one of the key figures in the country to make Japan a science and technology-oriented nation.

Kõji Omi

Founder and Chairman, The Science and Technology in Society (STS) forum, Kyoto

Ernst Theodor Rietschel is a German chemist trained at the Ludwig-Maximilians University in Munich and the Albert-Ludwigs-University in Freiburg. Since the 80’s he was invested of leading roles in institutions like the Borstel Research Institute, the Lycée Francais in Hamburg, the Leibniz Association, where he was president until 2010. For his work he was awarded prizes including the “Ordre pour le Merite” from the Republic of France, the Grand Prize of the German Society for Hygiene and Microbiology, and the First Class Federal Cross of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany.

Ernst Th. Rietschel

Former Chairman of the Board, Berlin Institute of Health; former President, Leibniz Association

The publisher (Herausgeber) of Berlin's leading quality daily, Tagesspiegel, is a political scientist by training (Duke) and a honorary professor at the Berlin University for the Arts. Since the 80’s he has founded several companies, like the trade journal “Medium”, the first independent communication agency in East Germany then merged into the group Scholz & Friends, the start-up incubator Econa (now an internet holding) and the web service company Aperto. He is also involved in several non profit initiatives like the Max-Planck-Foundation, the Art Directors Club, the Berlin School of Creative Leadership and the “science for children” project “Haus der kleinen Forscher”. He initiated the Falling Walls Conference in 2009 and established the Falling Walls Foundation in 2010.

Sebastian Turner

Founder, Falling Walls Foundation

Otmar D. Wiestler became President of the Helmholtz Association of German Research Centres, the largest association of research centres in Germany, in September 2015. From 2004 to 2015 he served as Chairman of the Management Board and Scientific Director of the DKFZ in Heidelberg. From 2007 to 2012, he was Vice-President for Health of the Helmholtz Association. Wiestler studied medicine at the University of Freiburg. From 1984 to 1987 he spent a postdoctoral fellowship at the University of California in San Diego, and then went on to join the Department of Pathology at the University of Zurich, Switzerland. From 1992 to 2003, he headed the Department of Neuropathology at the University of Bonn, where he also served as head of the German Brain Tumor Reference Center and as Medical Director of Life & Brain GmbH.

Otmar D. Wiestler

President, Helmholtz Association of German Research Centres

Ingrid Wünning Tschol received her PhD in Biology from the University of Tübingen and did postdoctoral research at MIT and State University of New York. After careers at the German Research Foundation and the European Science Foundation, she joined the Robert Bosch Stiftung in 1999. She served as Vice Chair of the European Research Area Board (ERAB), which directly adviced the European Commissioner for Research from 2008 to 2011. She currently chairs the EFC-Research Forum and is a member of the Steering Committee for ESOF 2016 in Manchester.

Ingrid Wünning Tschol

Senior Vice-President Strategy, Robert Bosch Stiftung